WOD 1/31/12 – Circle of Awesomeness Tests 4-6

Level Two
Test 4: 1-Rep Max Power Snatch in 20 Minutes
Test 5: L-Sit Hold (2 attempts within the 60 Minutes of class time)
Test 6: 2-Mile Time Trial (2o Minute Cap)

MGJ 70lb :04 (S3) (6 Laps)

 

And a PR!  I pr’d my snatch by 15 lbs.  Thanks to Erica and Colleen.  My L-hang was only 4 seconds, but I will do better on the retest.  I’m inspired to build my own parallalettes to practice at home (shhhh!  don’t tell!).

The big news of this day was the run.  I didn’t want to row 2 miles.  Who would EVER want that?  So I decided to run what I could.  It’s been so long since I’ve run anywhere…I don’t really have a stride.  In the oval laps around our building, I ran the straights and walked the corners.  I tried speeding up and slowing down.  I tried long and short strides.  It’s sad to lose the ability to run.  I certainly wasn’t fast.  But I did 6 of the 8 laps in 20 minutes.  That is truly no small feat from where I started.  Although I could not run like that in every WOD, my knee wasn’t especially bothered afterward.   I just want to be able to run the warm up lap in morning.  My goal is to get the full 8 laps in 20 minutes on the retest.

Like I told coach Walker, running has been on my “I Can’t” list since my accident in 2004.  Almost 10 years.  And I stuck to that.  Now, it is on my “Sure, No Problem!” list.  That’s amazing.

Thank you Erica for running an extra lap to get me thru the end.  That was very cool.  I needed it.

Posted on February 1, 2012, in WOD and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Congratulations on your amazing progress AND on being named Athlete of the Month. You are unstoppable and deserve all good things. Hugs to you!

Leave a comment